YOU ARE HERE: Iloilo 6 WV students qualify as OWWA scholars

6 WV students qualify as OWWA scholars

E-mail Print PDF

ILOILO City – Six students from Western Visayas qualified for the Education for Development Scholarship Program (EDSP) of the Overseas Workers Welfare Administration (OWWA).

OWWA Region 6 officer-in-charge Reynold Pigar said three are high school graduates from Iloilo, two are from Aklan and one from Antique.  They are among the 100 national qualifiers for the EDSP.

The qualifiers from Iloilo are:

* Christine Angelica Leal Losañes – from Philippine Science High School

* Romie Angelo Granja Azur – from Philippine Science High School, and

* Jason Clement Sartorio Acebuque – from Ateneo de Iloilo – Santa Maria Catholic School.

The qualifiers from Aklan are:

* Jonna Angelie Villanueva Bautista, and

* Reenan Baldo Sabado.

Both are from the Regional Science High School 6.

The lone qualifier from Antique is Bhryan Jhun Paulino Ytao from Antique National High School.

EDSP is a competitive, educational assistance program that entitles the qualified overseas Filipino worker dependents to take any four- or five-year baccalaureate course in any college or university at a maximum amount of P60,000 per school year.

OWWA said there were 4,496 total applicants all over the country for the OWWA EDSP Scholarship examination for school year 2013-2014conducted on November 18, 2012.

Only the top 100 passers are granted financial assistance per school year. (PIA-Iloilo/PN)